Hello and Sewing for COVID-19?

Hi all,

I am Rikki - a new-ish member (joined the end of last year) but I am new to the discourse conversations - so hello all!

I mainly paint but I grew up with a home-economics (sewing and cooking) teacher and a wood shop teacher, so I have always liked making things.

I wanted to ask if anyone had been using the sewing machine to make face masks or scrubs. There are a few groups in South London working on this. Is that something I might be able to do? Either bringing it home or coming in at certain times to work on it?

Thanks in advance!
Rikki

4 Likes

We’re very keen to support this

The sewing machines are idle at the moment…but we’ve had a couple of requests to take smaller machines home for PPE production

There’s likely to be a huge need for washable face mask for the general public (assuming NHS supply is sorted soon…)

@Ty_design has worked up some brilliant everyday-wear mask designs BTW, watch this space)

I’ve asked @textilestechs about which machines are suitable (there’s a few small ones knocking about, don’t know which work)

Working in the Space: mostly focused on shield production at the moment, but there’s a PPE booking calendar, so we can look at timings

It’s one person at a time at the moment with an air change break of an hour in between to keep it safe…and there’s a clean on arrival routine

We also have funds to buy some more sewing machines if this was needed and could be demonstrated to be helpful as a response to COVID-19…probably cheapish but good machines which we’d look to donate or sell on afterwards

Also: I’m personally keen on getting a couple of mask trees going locally – places where the public can pick up a free mask and a link to a donation page if they want to support…would love thoughts on this. The idea would be to make a couple of prominent ones and hope it takes off as an idea

2 Likes

This sounds like a great idea.