Proposal for Bike Maintenance and tools

So I have the following ready to bring in, including the peg board if we would like it -

1 x set of blue Allen Keys
1 x Fue pedal Spanner
1 x Chain whip
1 x Cassette remover
1 x crank remover
1 x chain checker
1 x chain breaker
3 x parktool tyre levers
9 x fue allen keys for people to use/ take/ borrow when people need them.

I’m guessing we have some spanners for people to use to remove wheels etc…

If we want these tools feel free to ask me how to use any one them if someone isn’t sure, I’m not a mechanic so don’t know everything but happy to share what I know!
A heads up, if the chain checker is showing your chain is worn .5 you need a new chain, .75 is a new chain and cassette. :mountain_bicyclist:

Any ideas regarding where these can live or if we them is welcome. It could be possible to keep the tools by the door and work out front in the yard to free up space in the messy space if we’re aiming for simple maintenance jobs.

5 Likes

Forgot to mention, I also have a track pump I could bring that I need a few parts to fix it up before bringing it.

I’m very keen to have access to tools like this :slight_smile:

My advice would be to store them in a tool box or similar, so they don’t get re-appropriated for other uses.

If you do bring them in, we’ll want to mark them as yours in some way. This sort of thing is going to happen more and more now that construction is winding down.

A clearly marked shadow board serves this purpose well: it’s clear when something is missing.

I also thing these tools would be a benefit to the space, if not to me personally.

1 Like

Great, I’ll wait to hear from a few more members but sounds positive so far, if I bring them in on Sunday we can have a play around with where they will work best.

I’ve marked them with my initials and orange plastidip where possible to highlight them as mine but if theres a way we are doing it too, I’m up for that.

3 Likes