I would like to make a large Chopping Board / Butchers Block

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa4a5eaa4b0>

Hello fellow makers

I have been thinking about making a large / very large Cutting board. At Christmas I purchased a XL Big Green egg and have been practicing cooking large pieces of meat i.e. Brisket. I have found that I now don’t own a large enough chopping board to cut such things on.

I have some experience with wood and a have made things like Speakers ect. however I have never made a chopping board and will have to research things like the correct woods to use and correct things to use to seal the board.

At the minute I am picture something fairly think and square in Shape, with a routed gutter to catch all of the juices.

I welcome any ideas and suggestions that anyone has!

2 Likes

Hiya! Sounds cool!

I have been wanting to use the CNC to make a cutting board like this:

3 Likes

That looks awesome!!

1 Like

I’m halfway through making a small one of these at the moment!
Once / if the planer thickenesser is back up and running it’ll be a lot easier.
I’ve done it with strips of oak, ash and some walnut that I had left over. I’ve used Cascamite to glue it all together.

This is how far I’ve got.

3 Likes

That looks awesome, would love a chat about it when you’ve got time!

I am not sure if can do that with our CNC…it doesn’t have googly eyes…:grinning:

I want to try making something like this as well!

1 Like

Be wary of putting end grain boards through the planer thicknesser…… all your hard work could be shattered in an instant!!

If you don’t want to go through painful hours of sanding either a router sled or if the Cnc is going pass over with a wide flat bottom bit

4 Likes

Thank you! Yes - @Ryanf mentioned that on Friday, so I think I’ll do it with the router sled.