Hi, Nick here

Hello

I am Nick based in Kennington.

I’ve known about SLMS for quite a while know but it was only come January this year that I applied to join. Unfortunately the timing couldn’t have been worse and it looks like things might be on hold, or at least a go slow, for quite a while. Certainly with regards new members anyhow.

I am an artist, designer/maker I guess. Something like that. One of my main interests is lighting but I do a whole gamut of stuff ranging through furniture, interiors generally and electronic projects (Raspberry Pi mainly).

Many things I make are inspired by found/reclaimed objects. The light I am currently working on started out life in Japan when I lived there many years ago. It’s been through a series of iterations over the years but came on considerbaly when I last had access to a laser cutter 5 years ago. I’m very keen therefore to build on this and refine the design to a point where i could batch produce in limited numbers.

The SLMS discussion forum has been very useful over the last few months for keeing up to date with developments. It’s good to see the space is back in action albeit on a very restricted level however I’m still stuck with the problem of how to progress my work. One option I am considering is to purchase a small laster cutter as mentioned in this thread - Laser attachment for a 3D printer?

My project involves cutting 3mm ply which it seems the Ortur can do at push. A slightly more powerful laser might be more appropriate perhaps but if it’s only a matter of the process taking slightly longer then that’s not a problem.

Anyway would be good to hear from others on this and other matters.

Best wishes
Nick

1 Like

Hi Nick, things are a bit quiet due to the holidays and the Pandemic, I’m sure the space will come back at full blown soon, we do have a laser cutter at the space but you need to get inducted on it, sadly that’s something it’s lacking behind for reasons I’m sure you understand.