Hi I'm Victoria, I love Art Nouveau and I want to learn Woodwork

I’m Victoria, I have just joined as a member after attending Wednesdays open day.

I’m a bit of a jack of all trades when it comes to arts and crafts, I’ve had a go at candlemaking, chainmaille, knitting, silversmithing, mosaics, stained glass, painted glass, puppet building, set building, painting/drawing, lino stencils, silk painting etc.

My main ‘skill’ is sewing, which I have been doing for more than 10 years at this point so I more than happy to share my experience in that area if people want help. I have a level 2 qualification in pattern cutting if anyone wants help drafting patterns. I’ve also completed courses in draping and handsewing. I currently working on a 1907 S-Bend corset if anyone is interested in my home project.

I have a full blown love affair with Art Nouveau (hence the name) and I’ve joined the space predominantly to gain access to the woodworking tools and cnc machines so that I can have a crack at making my own Art Nouveau style furniture. I like to bite off more than I can chew so my plan for once I’ve completed my inductions is to work towards making a faux Art Nouveau stained glass window frame (among many other potential projects).

I live quite far outside of the city so I probably won’t be able to get to the space until my first induction. I was hoping to be able to travel in less often but for longer days but I don’t know how long the space is usually open for, especially during the week?

Let me know if any of that sounds interesting or if I can lend an ear to anyones sewing project.

1 Like

Hi Victoria, and welcome! It was good to meet you on Wednesday.

That’s a lot of trades to be a jack of, and it’ll be really interesting to see your art nouveau furniture.