Hi, I'm Chris

Hi SLMS!

I’m Chris - I’m a long time proponent of maker spaces, having tried to set one up in University of Kent, Cantebury as a founding committee member of Tinkersoc - which I wasn’t able to do in my time but my successors have been successful since! I have also been a member of London Hackspace since 2010, been involved in EMF setting up the camp radio station one year.

By trade, I’m a Broadcast Engineer, but with an electronics background and a tendency to build my own furniture (that’ll probably be my first project!). I also take photographs with film, and develop it myself.

I’m not fully signed up just yet - but I highly suspect I will be as soon as I visit for the first time either this Wednesday or the next. So far I’m really liking the friendly vibe of SLMS from what I can see on Discourse, and I think I’d like a community that’s a bit smaller and more manageable than LHS has become of late.

Look forward to meeting some of you!

8 Likes

Come down and meet us , the kettle is always on.

Just don’t say the D word.:grinning:

Hey Chris,
welcome, i normally bug new people and give them the

this + blood, sweat, tears = makerspace now speech

but it sounds like you dig the volunteer thing. We are still developing the space, and importantly the culture and running of the space.
Your experience with other makerspaces/makerspace movement will be good, we need to figure out what other spaces do best/better then us

i do saturdays in the space helping with build, which is progressing fast.

Conor

Hi Chris, and welcome.

I borrowed a phono connector from the EMF radio station guys in 2014. I was about to go on stage and didn’t have a guitar lead, so it was a life saver!

@joeatkin2 what’s the D word?

discuits

Darkroom :grinning:

1 Like

doldemort

1 Like