Hello makers! i'm artem, a startup founder looking for a place to tinker

hey everyone!

i recently applied - the makerspace seems like a wonderful community and workshop, excited to join!

i’ve done a lot of different things over the years - here’s some highlights;

• started as a self taught 3d artist, made my first money from commissions (mostly aerospace mockups) made during lunch breaks in the cad/cam lab at school
  • went into gaming (building on roblox) and worked on 17 titles (about 5/6 were top grossing), where i contributed to over 2.7bn downloads/play sessions
  • did independent consulting for F100s like pepsi, spotify, UMG
  • designed virtual merchandise for brands/artists like chipotle, QQ music & tai verdes (~150k sales)
  • started my second/current startup (pre-pivot): marketing agency building games, worked with F100s like unilever on 6 fig campaigns. (post-pivot): game publisher/VC running an accelerator program
  • started a third startup-ish on the side, a luxury fashion brand selling virtual watches (~98k sales)
  • accepted into the world’s most prestigious tech accelerator, YCombinator (S22 batch)
  • raised 1.5M$ (20m$ post money) from VCs including Paul Graham, Dentsu Global, Coddy Johnson (prev. COO of Activision), Pioneer Fund, GFR Fund & more

my current founder/ceo job demands more time spent on management than building things. this leaves me with no great outlet for a desire to make things. i have a bunch of projects and ideas in the back of my head that i’d love to tinker on - but no place or tools to make them! D:

SLMS seems like the perfect place to work on those projects while improving my (extremely newbie!) engineering skills in the company of great people, so i hope to meet some of you soon!

2 Likes

Welcome Artem! You found the perfect place to tinker and explore projects other than your day job!

See you in the Space!
Cheers

2 Likes

Great to meet you - that’s awesome, see you soon! :smile:

Hi Artem,