Hello hello my name is Charles

Hey all, as the topic suggests my name is Charles!

Im a accessory/luggage designer, and have always wanted to join a maker space and share my passion for designing and making cool stuff! Super excited to get involved.

My main skill is in sewing, and laser cutting/engraving textiles, and I’m really interested in learning more about metalworking and 3D printing/design, and just generally meeting and collaborating with other passionate creatives!

I live in Sunny Sydenham so only ten mins down the road, would it be possible to stop by at some point over the weekend to check out the space and say hello to you lovely people?

4 Likes

Hi Charles,

Welcome to our community! Sounds like you found the right place.

I’m waiting for a reply from a new member to see the Makerspace either Saturday or Sunday, 4pm. I’ll let you know once he’s replied.

See you at the Makerspace,
Mark

Fantastic thanks Mark, either of those days works for me so yeah please let me know. See you then!

Hey Charles,

Not sure if you followed the other post in this category, but we’ll meet Sunday, September 3rd, 4pm at the Makerspace.

See you then,
Mark

2 Likes

Hey Mark,

Yeah I saw, sounds good :slight_smile: thanks for letting me know!

Looking forward to it

Welcome Charles! Would love to have a chat about laser cutting of textiles some time. I help out in the Textiles area and use the laser cutter - but have not put the two things together :):smiley:

Thanks for the warm welcome :slight_smile: yes absolutely always happy to share my knowledge. Laser cutting is honestly the perfect way to cut fabrics, once you understand how to set up a CAD file the sky is the limit really! Perfect accurate cut panels, every time - dreamy :star_struck:

Feel free to message me any time you want to get goin!

1 Like

Hi. I am one of the laser techs. I’d be happy to learn about this so that I can share the skills with other members.

1 Like