Friendly neighbourhood punk (Zoe)

Hi there ! My name’s Zoe (She/they). I’ve just joined the wait list and am looking forward to meeting other makers -I’m hoping to pop along to the next open evening on the 29th :slight_smile: Feel free to drop me a message or reply to this if you share any of my interests or just wanna chat.

Things I like to make:
Music, patches (for clothes), analogue media (tape, disc, etc), zines (non fic usually, I wrote one about pizza), pizza, art
Things I like to fix:
Vintage music electronics (cassettes are my jam), instruments, clothes
Things I’d like to learn to make/fix:
All of the above bc I’m not very skilled yet - specifically electronics and using a sewing machine (also I’d like to learn to fix my sewing machine at home), motorcycles (and cycles), woodworking & luthiery, 3D printing (mostly because it’d be helpful with all sorts of these other things)

I’m a motorcyclist and apprentice trainer (meta I know). I play guitar, bass and sing as well as the mandolin (newbie) and the washboard - I generally make types of punk but I really love all music and love playing blues and folk as well as listening to dance music of all kinds. My favourite genre is ska (there’s more to it than you’d think) and my favourite band is Chumbawamba (there’s more to them than you’d think). I’m interested in fixing and maintaining things.

Anyway apologies for the lengthy intro - feel free to say hi ! ^-^

9 Likes

Hi Zoe, welcome! I’ve been making a couple of patches lately, it’d be cool to see what you’re making!

Awesome ! What kinda patches are you making? I’ve been doing more fixing (struggling with this old tape recorder) than I have making lately - athough I’ve got a surplus RAF mechanics jumpsuit I’m slowly adding patches to before sewing. Hoping to get back into the swing of making patches I’ve got plenty of ideas for stuff I wanna screen print c:

Hey Zoe,

Welcome to the SLMS!