End grain cutting board

It’s time for a bit of YouTube woodworking. Buckle up and follow this piece of American walnut on its journey from a timber yard in north London, through its physical and spiritual redefinition into an end-grain cutting board, all the way back to America to be presented as a wedding gift.

The wood
I’ve never worked with walnut before, it turned out to be quite lovely to shape. Here’s the board right off the rack, a bit over an inch thick rough sawn. I knew there’s be a decent amount of wastage with this project, so I made sure to do some rough math and calculate the volume of wood I’d need in the board:

End grain cutting board theory

In short, the way to make one of these is to start with a big board, get it really flat and square, cut it in half and glue it together, get it really square, then cut it in half and glue it together, get it really square, etc. until you arrive at the final size/shape you want. Squareness and flatness are really important, as any error will propagate and create gaps. This being my first one, I tried not to spend as much time considering the final pattern that I’d get on the surface, and more effort on just execution.

Enflattening
It’s a massive pain to plane really long things, so the board got chopped in half. Not only does this make it easier to flatten, you also tend to lose less material through the process: