Bicycle maintenance workshop

Come to the South London Makerspace Bike Repair Meet-up!

Open for everyone, including kids and non-members

Time to get your bike fit for the winter! Have you been meaning to tune up your bike? Got one sitting in the shed and it needs something to be road-worthy?

Come! Bring your bike and any necessary spares and let’s get them all fixed up together and have some repair fun!

Date: Wed, Dec 7th, 2022
Time: 7:00PM - 9:00PM (ish)

10 Likes

Hi @Clem amazing initiative. I’m looking forward to meet you.

1 Like

^ ditto, nice idea Clem.

If anyone would like advice on what spares specifically they may need, feel free to drop me a line.

Edit- I have loads of cables at home (I’m a pro bike mechanic), would it be useful to the space for me to donate a few? Don’t want to crowd things up, but perhaps expanding the bike repair inventory is something that many members could find handy? Also I often have access to used chains, wheels, seatposts, cogs, etc., so if they’d be of use to anyone, as above just message me or come over and chat if you see me.

6 Likes

I’m building a cargo bike frame from recycled bikes so I’m all in for more parts, knowledge and initiative in makers space :raised_hands:

2 Likes

Cool thanks @hernehillier - let’s have a look through what we currently have and see where there may be gaps or spares that would make sense to stock!

Cheers,
Andy

1 Like

Cool. I had a look today, there’s quite a few tools. There’s no tool I’d say is crucially missing for most bike repairs to be honest.

Off the top of my head, some things that might be handy and I couldn’t locate:

-MTB and road brake cables, and housing. Maybe a set or two for urgent weekend or nighttime repairs when shops are shut?
-Gear cables and housing. As above.
-Couple of thin nitrile gloves for greasy goods.