We need more Electrotechs!

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa498966308>

Good day everyone,

Me and @Laura_Barlow had a conversation yesterday regarding the future of the electronics area, long story short, I have been a tech for more the 8 years now and I start to feel the weight of it and Laura has different plans for the future, so we *need * someone who would be willing to look after this small section of the makerspace, we think that what we need is :

• Commintment
    – Organising the electronics nights, maybe not at the same rate, but with a good rate, the electronics nights are the most sociable event at the space and the saw hundreds of new people coming in during the years, way more then I can remember. A couple of hours a week of commitment would be ideal.

• Electronics knowledge or willing to learn
    – People will come to you with any sort of project and questions, you don’t have to know the answer to all of them but you will need the willing to learn while doing.
    – Organising the benches and keep the chaos from spreading will require you to understand some basic electronics and to figure out what’s needed by people and what’s not.

• People skill.
    – Strangers will approach you with projects and they might want to share, they need help, they might be complete novice to science and technology , they might quantum physicists, most of the time your interaction with them it’s vital for them to get interested in the hobby

I would -like- to prioritise diversity in this, so, if you feel you can represent a minority, don’t be shy and message me!

Are you the next @electrotechs?

8 Likes

OK, I may not be an ideal electrotech because my electronics knowledge is not large, but since I currently do electrical/electronic repair events (and may be running repair events in the space (or in the Station Hall) soon), maybe I should put my hand up?