Wanted: wheel builder or wheel building workshop

My rear bicycle wheel is starting to split :sleepy:

Anyone know a good wheel builder or workshop on how to do it?

Happy to pay in worthless debt tokens (ie. money). Otherwise it’s £130 for a new wheel

Thanks for looking

Hi,
I’m far from an expert but I’ve built up somewhere around seven wheels.
Commuted for years on one set, mountain biked on some others.
Even hit a car that turned across in front of me and broke a frame. Wheels have stayed true through all of it.

It isn’t that hard to pickup yourself. Just slow going.

This guide is excellent.

Well worth £9.

Worth mentioning that all I’ve built are 3 cross wheels. The fancier patterns (by which I mean things like straight pull) are harder and the tension on the spokes more important.

1 Like

Thanks for the prompt and helpful response. I’ll definitely get that publication.

I’m not bothered about fancy patterns but it is for an electric wheel/hub which has shorter/thicker spokes, if that makes any difference?

I think the split was caused by hitting a large pothole, in the rain, which punctured the inner tube and permanently bent the tyre!

I first thought the wheel was buckled. But a kind bike shop technician in Orpington did a free on-bike quick-true. Using cable ties around the wheel forks(stays?), cut so they nearly touched the rim. It was still wobbling badly even after a deflate/inflate. Swapping the tyre solved the problem. Then I noticed the split damage to the hub

I have found a potential course for £90 at the London bike hub but they haven’t set any 2019 dates yet.

I got this guy to build some wheels for me recently: http://www.yogarup.com/wheels/

He did a good job and was good at giving me some guidance by email before I went to visit.

1 Like