Super 8 Camera - Battery / 3D printing advice

Hello everybody. I’ve just bought, possibly unwisely, a Super 8 camera off of eBay. It has, however, no battery holder and the replacements cost more than double what I paid for the camera. My suspicion is people often left batteries in them, they corroded and destroyed the pack holders.

It takes 6 x 1.2v AA rechargeable batteries to run at 7.2v (assuming it works) and these were originally hidden in the handle. I don’t know if the most sensible thing to do is to try and make a new battery holder or to somehow modify an existing battery pack to run at the right voltage / fit in the space available. The space is about 6cm x 4.5cm x 3cm. The bonus of using AA batteries is they’re easily rechargeable and presumably with some kind of pack I’d need to build a charger too.

I am completely new to 3D printing and save for doing the intro here at least two years ago, I’ve never used the thing mostly because of a complete lack of software modelling skills so I don’t know if that’s even really a starter, especially as I have nothing to compare sizes with.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

First thing I would do personally is try and connect the thing to a power supply. The bench supply at the space has current limiting so you can safely try to power it and get a feel for how well it’s working.

1 Like

Next I would get the general dimensions for a generic battery holder.

I’m guessing but I think that’s right general size.

I would then try to see if it actually fits inside. If so then you might get away with only needing to convert it to the correct connection type which seems considerably easier than anything else I can think of.

I would probably just solder long wires between the generic holder and the contacts inside but I’m sure that’s pretty unsuitable for anyone who cares about the quality of the camera.

1 Like