Spray painting wood work

Hi All,

Do we have the capability to spray paint some furniture manufactured out of MDF? more specifically do we have a compressor and a dirty area to paint in?

If not does anyone know of another workshop who would help out? either allowing me to use their paint booth or do the spraying as a paid job?

At the moment we do have an air compressor (in need of some love) but we do not have any spray gun! The wet area should be suitable also for spray painting but to be sure I refer to the king of messy area his majesty @pip!

I used to be a spray painter and I doubt the wet area is going to be large enough or equipped suitably for spraypainting…

Ahmed next door to us has the facilities for this.

Do you think a small spray painting setup is possible in the ‘wet corner’?

Air brushing would be ok, but I will need to look at the ‘wet corner’ to see what the setup is (unfortunately not been to the space to a while). But judging by the photos I have seen I doubt it will be suitable for anything more than that.

We need a second arch! :joy:

1 Like

A pop up gazebo outside might work? Could be useful for other temporary projects too.

With a good fullface mask?

This idea has crossed my mind also, the only issue would be temperature control.

@Dermot a fullface mask would be mandatory in all circumstances.

@stefanoromano I have a spray gun somewhere, however for small jobs a cheap one would suffice so I may buy a new one. I have never sprayed on wood so would need to practice with undercoat paints first. @nico.dejong.nz do you think there will be any difference in spraying an undercoat paint onto MDF ? I have experience with painting vehicles with 2K.

@Dermot Next time I am down during the daytime I will speak with Ahmed and see if he would like to help, until some point in the future when we potentially have our own facilities.