Software Engineering Bootcamp

My son is considering taking the part-time version of this course.

Has anyone ever heard of them?
Any and all comments are appreciated.

Here’s the syllabus.
software-engineering-course-syllabus.pdf (3.9 MB)

Full disclosure: I did not hear of this camp before; however, I have gona through a few different ones few years ago (like datacamp). I am a biologist turned software developer.

I have a question - what does he hope to get from it? From my experience the following works much better if you desire to just gain a general (or even a very narrow) skill: Choose a subject you are passionate about a trying to build a project out of it - initially, you have no idea what you are doing, but you just google - how do I do “x”/what is the best way to do “x”; 90/100 times (especially for the intro stuff) there is a perfect tutorial/youtube video and you learn from that - importantly, your stuff is never gonna work the first, second, or third time, but eventually you will get it right and (I can’t stress this enough; based on personal experience) learn a ton in the process - way more than I ever could take from a lecture.

Does he have any ‘awareness’ of the field? Is he switching carreers? Is he a young student looking to enter the labour market for the first time? Something else different entirely?

Looking at the sylabus and the tuition fees, I believe he might be better off just using that money to fund himself just ‘making a project’ (based on the sylabus, I assume building a website - let’s say he is passionate about photography [insert any other hobby] - great make a website showing off your photos) that he ends up publishing to github (or equivalent), deploying the website and putting that on his CV instead - nowadays, it looks very equivalent if not even better than a course hiring-vise.

I can think of a bunch of different tips depending on the exact circumstances.