RPG paperweights / ornaments

I’ve been meaning to do this for a few years, but now I’ve done the woodshop induction (thanks Ed!) I think I’ll be starting it properly soon. I’m really not sure how I’m going to go about every part of it, I’ve had some ideas but if anyone has thoughts on alternate ways to do things please let me know; novice doesn’t begin to describe my level of experience!

Also, on the extremely off-chance that the RPG “Ferrymen” means anything to you, I can only ask that you stop reading now. You’ve already seen too much, but the more you read the more you’ll spoil the surprise!

What I’m wanting to make

So, brief background: I’ve been playing in a RPG with five of my friends for five years now, every month. The game has developed a lot of lore and we’re very invested, and it’s getting towards end-game now. To commemorate the game, I’m planning on making some gifts for all the other players (and myself!). It’s a sci-fi game set in a homebrew world we created using the Microscope system, with a series of solar systems connected by faster-than-light travel points that link some systems together into a ‘cluster’. The eight systems of the cluster are mapped together thus (forgive the hand-written addition):

It’s not escaped my notice that these eight points can be mapped onto a cube following the edges and crossing faces as most once (i.e. with no ‘crossing over’), and no links between opposite vertices. So what I’m planning on making are six identical cube maps of our cluster, one for each player. A rough sketch of what I’m wanting it to look like in the end (two viewpoints from opposite corners) is:

Initial thoughts on how I might make it