Need the laser

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa4a3aa84e0>

Hey folks,

I’ve been a member for about 6 months and I’m never around because I can’t manage to get inducted on anything. To throw this into relief, I have an engineering degree and was a core member of the Machines Room for years who worked onsite. I’m also a professional educator teaching folks physical computing at the graduate level at UAL in a Computing Masters degree I helped to create. If someone can manage to give me an induction, I’m the kind of person who could redo/help with this induction process being so slow and volunteer time. I have thoughts about how we could set up self inductions with videos and have an online quiz people could take, particularly folks like me who are already working professionals in the space. I’m to the point where I am dire and in 2 weeks I have a huge show and desperately need tools. Can anyone induct me/does anyone have time? Getting cutters are UAL at Camberwell has been really challenging because of the student load and limited hours. This new-fangled Insistute UAL started I am part of does not have access to the shop formally. Camberwell has been kind and helpful but I’m just a user they are giving favors to so it’s hard to count on. Also, I work with Tom Lynch, who got the cutter I’m asking you all to be inducted on. He has a new cutter coming this summer for our college, but I need help now. I’ve signed up for 2 inductions that have been canceled in a row. Help me and I can help improve this whole flow. I understand no one is getting paid and everyone is busy but we should look at overhauling this process to be easier. I’m exactly the kind of member that’s useful to have around. :smiley: Empower me and I promise to help if you want to overhaul the educational resources. (Meow!)

Thanks in advance,
Phoenix

1 Like

@lasertechs?

Hi Phoenix!