Looking for help on some storage bin signs

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa495dfc370>

I’ve got a set of strage bins I use for my girl’s clothes that can’t be hung up. Problem is I’m just using sticky labels to mark them, and it looks ratty, and they get worn off over time.

I’ve been inducted on the laser cutter, and I’m thinking I can use it to make some nice labels on it. I’ve got a few
a few questions before I start.

I think Inkscape is the best for this. Make basic shape, add the label text, then maybe trace an image to make it look nice. Is inkscape the best for this? I asked at the induction, and apparently next to anything goes, so long as it makes a valid svg, but coming form a complete newbie perspective, what’s best for learning? In the future, I’m hoping to make more complex structures with mechancial compnents, is it best to jump right into something like Fusion360, even though it’s likley way overkill for this project, so so I’ve got something to learn on.

Once I’ve got the signs cut, how best to attach them? I was thiking of adding some holes to the template, then drilling through the bins (they are fairly cheap ikea ones, so not too worries) and using a small nut+bolt. Would be more secure, but it will catch on clothes inside. Is there a better way? would there a glue that’s strong enough? Are there tapping tools in the space to put a tiny countersunk screw from inside so it’s flush both sides? The plastic on the bins is too thin for tapping, but it should be possible on laser cut wood right?