Inkscape and adobe not seeing the same fonts?

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa499af1190> #<Tag:0x00007fa499af1000>

So trying to cut this file on the laser: drawing

See how it comes out all wacky looking? Somehow, it looks fine on Inkscape (both in my PC and in the space’s PC)… but look screwed up on Adobe Illustrator and on Ruby:

I get it that there’s somethin goin on w/ the fonts, but why? I changed all the fonts to fonts that I’m sure the space has… I even changed some of them to Arial, and it still is complaining! What gives?

(I’m an absolute beginner, but want to try to be helpful)

What if you convert the text objects to paths instead in inkscape?

I get that by doing so you’ll forfeit the ability to edit the text later, but you could mitigate that by saving two copies of the svg, one with text and one with only paths - my understanding is that the paths will then allow you to be 100% sure that one programs interpretation of the design will be the same as anothers

2 Likes

drawing_paths

Yessir! I guess that solves the problem… take a look. I guess my question remains… why is there stupidity w/ the fonts!?

1 Like

That’s an age old question… it’s all to do with different user interface styles, font interpretation, rendering differences etc. It’s (partly) what makes web design so hard across different browsers/devices…

flashbacks to moving a Word document and finding all the line breaks had changed
SVG as a standard is not very precise (or indeed says much at all) when it comes to fonts, but WebFonts are actually SVG themselves so you might have more luck with them regarding document portability.
It would be nice to be able to save a document with paths for text, and retain the metadata about the text that those paths represent though.

1 Like

Back in the day I saw this fairly regularly with things like PDF, they bake some fonts into the program so if the OS doesn’t have it they can use it but nothing else can

1 Like