How I can cut glass? (aka help me to hack my IKEA HOL)

I have an IKEA HOL :

I like it but something about it is driving me insane , because I’m using it as coffee table between the tv and the sofa , every time anyone is using as , you know, coffee table , the crumbles goes inside and because I’m using as storage as well, it became a completely pointless furniture so , I thought , I should put a glas on it , like this person did :

But I have no experience in glass cutting and I have no idea where to start…

any help? :smiley:

It’s possible to do it yourself, but it gets harder as it gets larger. The round corners in particular will be very hard. Best thing is to get a glazier to cut you a piece to order. You’ll get a perfect finish and can have all the corners bevelled.

Ok , Thanks!

Is there any trusted one around the space?

Any advice of how I can “glue” the glass to the wood ?

The local guys we used for the front window seem to have moved/closed down. I would just do a google search for local ones, read reviews and get a few quotes.

They’ll ask if you want Toughened, which is the sort that is stronger and breaks into thousands of little nuggets instead of big shards. If it’s being supported across the whole span by the wood, then you probably don’t need it.

I wouldn’t glue it down. Glass is heavy and almost all the work will be done by gravity. If it does move around, then consider some thin/recessed (so they don’t lift it off the rest of the wood too much) rubber feet in the corners.

The main problem is that the glass panel will be on the lid , that’s why I want to glue it …

I’d definitely go for safety glass: laminated (which you can cut to size yourself, in theory), or toughened (which is professionally toughened after being cut to size). Plenty of glaziers still around, depending where you live.

1 Like