Feral cat shelter

We have a few offcuts of 12mm plywood at home, and my girlfriend suggested turning it into a simple rain shelter for a young feral cat – who we have dubbed Harriet – that has started hanging around in our tiny garden a lot recently

Any tips? Do we have a product at the space I could use to waterproof the plywood? And will there be any kind @woodtechs at the space this late afternoon/evening or any time tomorrow who could help me with the table saw, and cutting a 6" hole?

Any construction guidance would also be appreciated as I have zero woodworking experience outside the wood shop induction, and this will sort of be my first project of this kind. I was just planning to glue and nail it together, really…?

Design criteria is: Durable, basic shelter from weather, traps some heat when stuffed with straw.

Cheers!

1 Like

Ideal weather proofing of ply would be to stick it in a vacuum with resin or possibly yacht varnish. However the current chamber wont fit anything that large. So a heavy coat on all sides will have to do.
It’d be worthwhile keeping an eye out for a bit of shed roof material to tack onto the top. Screws or brads would do the job, probably not worthwhile dovetailing it…

I’m happy to lend a hand and show you what you need to know, I’ll be at the space in an hour or so.

There is definitely a small amount of yacht varnish - I’d probably buy a pot on your way in to be sure to have enough.

P.s. you could fit a cat flap to maximize heat, we could buy or make this using another piece of lightweight wood and a fabric hinge.

1 Like

Brilliant! Cheers Jonty. See you at the space in a couple hours.

Huge huge thanks to @Jonty_Bottomley for advice and tips every step of the way! I’m sure Harriet the cat will be very comfortable :cat2:

3 Likes

Looking good!