Electronics- 9v battery to 5v output

Hi guys,

I’m new to electronics and would appreciate some guidance.

I’m trying to ‘hack’ a LED Fire-effect light bulb to work on a 9v battery to make it portable.

Using a multimeter I can see that the bulb converts mains voltage to 5v.

I’ve tried the following:

• I’ve used a 5v LM7805 voltage regulator, this works well until the battery gets to around 6v which is below the regulator’s limit - causing the Circuit to stop with more than half the battery charge left.

• I’ve used a MP1584EN buck converter, but have found that the voltage output doesn’t say a constant 5v as the battery drains - it looks like the converter fractions up the outgoing voltage (so if 5v is 55% of 9v, when the battery is at 6v the converter is delivering 3v)

Is there a way to get a constant 5v output from a 9v battery which uses up as much of the battery charge as possible? (I don’t want to be throwing away half-full batteries thinking they are empty)

Thanks for your help guys, and look forward to meeting you at your next open evening.

Martyn

With linear regulators, you want to look at data sheets to find one with the smallest ‘dropout voltage’. Dropout voltage is the minimum voltage difference between the input and output. There are better performing, but less common, types than the LM7805. If you do a search on a component supplier like Farnell or RS you should find some.

A buck converter steps down voltage. You want a buck-boost converter if you want a constant output with the input voltage ranging above and below the output voltage. This module purports to do what you want it to, although I do not have any experience with it:

https://www.proto-pic.co.uk/pololu-5v-step-upstep-down-voltage-regulator-s7v7f5.html

may sound daft but to keep the Buck happy, 2 x 9v batteries delivering 18v to it may actuality be better, especially at the lower end of the curve.

The Buck is defo the best route BTW, Liniers give off a good % of the energy as heat