Doubters & Routers

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa497a77c20> #<Tag:0x00007fa497a77ae0>

Hi,

I’m very new at this and still having trouble navigating the platform. I can’t see where my previous posts are or where previous conversations I’ve had have gone and I’m not sure when I’m posting publicly or privately. I still haven’t managed to actually use the space because I haven’t been inducted for anything although I think I might be on the woodworking induction this Tuesday 20th Feb but I’m not sure. I’m probably too late to get the time off work now anyway but I’m trying.

My question though is once I’ve been inducted whether it’s ok for me to bring my own tools in to use while I’m there or whether I have to use the ones there. I just noticed there’s a very long list for the router induction but would I need to do this induction to use my own router?

If not I’m wondering how many inductions I’ll need to have done to properly use the woodworking space and all the tools in it? I thought it was just the Basic one plus the planer/thicknesser and the CNC router but I think there may be more?

Thanks

Jon

Jon,

we’re moving away from the inductions for the tools in the wood shop past the basic to an assessment format that should be significantly easier to get through. This was announced in the members meeting, and I’ve been updating the relevant tool pages and waiting lists as that gets rolled out. Ideally the waiting list goes away, and we just need to see you use the tool and take an online quiz so we have that documented. We still need to do the basic, as that’s more of an orientation towards the wood shop. I’ll add a link to the bottom of my post. I see a router in your profile picture so I expect this will be pretty straightforward. We also have a new Fesstool router I expect you’ll be happy with.