Bike Repair Meet-up!

Come to the South London Makerspace Bike Repair Meet-up!

Open for everyone, including kids and non-members

Time to get your bike fit for the spring! Have you been meaning to tune up your bike? Got one sitting in the shed and it needs something to be road-worthy?

Come! Bring your bike and any necessary spares and let’s get them all fixed up together and have some repair fun!

Date: Mon, March 6th, 2023
Time: 7:30PM - 9:30PM (ish)

6 Likes

@hernehillier and I will bring rims, spokes and hubs… it will be fun… we are going to build few wheels. I’ve never done before.

1 Like

Good article about building standard 36 spokes bicycle wheel in a conventional lacing pattern.:biking_woman:t4::biking_man::biking_man:‍♂

If anyone wants to build a wheel, let me know asap.

We might be able to do tubeless tyre installation or chain waxing at cost of materials too, if there’s demand.

3 Likes

Tippy top end chain wax anyone? I can source some bike parts (including chains) at trade cost, and lend an ultrasonic cleaner and wax pot for the night.

2 Likes

Yes please! My bike is super dirty! @clem can you bring the bike cleaning stuff?

Hello - I would be interested if not too late! I’m actually looking to swap out a hub for a fg with adjustable chainline so more of a rebuild. Will see you all there on Mon

1 Like

Reminder to order the spares you need for fixing your bike next Monday :bike::woman_mechanic::man_mechanic:

1 Like

I aim to change BB and crank on my cargo BMX. From one piece crank and USA size bb to integrated single speed crank standard 24mm. I found a low price Sealed USA Bottom Bracket but it is only for 19 axe. Anyone has any advice on how to sort out BB and Crank on a shoestring budget?

1 Like

Hopefully someone else here has more experience with bmx bikes? I have worked on a few thousand bikes, but only a handful of them were bmx, so I’m unaware of the solution.