Bass Guitar Bridge

Ive been having lots of fun with a project to make a bass guitar bridge on the mini CNC machine, I thought I would post my progress :slight_smile:

Im fairly new to the CAD world and I did my design using FreeCAD.

I was quite keen to use FreeCAD as its open source and was wary of getting sucked into the world of expensive CAD software. FreeCAD is amazing but its definitely been a labour of love getting up to speed with it. You can definitely get things done with it but it has some pretty serious problems that make it pretty tedious to work with.

Id be interested what everyone else is using for CAD/CAM especially if there is an ‘affordable’ alternative :slight_smile:

When it came to the machining Ive had a couple of attempts to machine the main body of the bridge.

I clamped to the stock onto the bed and machined the ‘bottom’ surface to get it flat.

I then mounted on a piece of sacrificial perspex so I could machine the sides of the stock from the top without the clamps getting in the way.

Initially I used super glue to fix the stock, which has worked for me in the past, but this time I was machining away quite a bit of material and the stock got hot enough to melt the super glue so it came unstuck half way through :frowning_face:

The second attempt I drilled and threaded some screw holes into the stock and sacrificial perspex. I could only do this at one end of the stock as the design is not thick enough at the other end.

This definitely worked better, but not perfectly, the end of the stock that was not screwed down was lifting very slightly which caused chatter and some uneven machining.

I did my best to tidy up the surfaces and carry on just to try and prove out the process. It worked pretty well although the bridge was thinner than it was supposed to be which cause some problems down the line.

I needed to do a third setup to drill the holes and recesses in the ‘back’ of bridge.