3D Scanner - new release

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa4959a9188>

These 3D scanners have just been released on pre-sale. They have very decent specs. It’s similar to their previous generation Mole scanner I’ve used, and uses the same software which works very well and is very easy to use, even for an absolute beginner. AI makes tracking on these much easier. The lite is £205.19 on presale. The version with full colour capture and better resolution is £359.66. They can work with the Mac M1 or a Windows PC with integrated graphics. A high spec graphics workstation PC / gaming PC isn’t needed as with some scanners. It’s recommended for small to medium sized objects (15mm to 1500mm), which covers the use cases we generally have. At 0.05mm resolution that the Lite has, one can read a what’s printed on a label from the ink being raised up. It’s about as accurate as the CNC or 3D printers will go.

The presale price is discounted by about 1/3. Standard delivery is free. This seems a really good deal. The full colour version would of course be nice to have, but the £205 lite scanner would still be a good option. Full colour would be great for getting scans of things that members have made, which could then be showcased as full colour 3D models.

Any interest in the space getting one of these? If so, which one?

Ahh I did see these in passing the other day and look interesting. We could look at getting the older units sold and replacing with one of there. I have had chance to look properly at the specs.

Looks interesting…

@scday94, hi, don’t think we’ve met (I don’t come in very often!) but do you know if the space currently has a working 3d scanner?

I had been looking on discourse but only found a reference to a potential donation by @shawaj in the new year…did anything happen with this?

I’d been looking at potentially buying one but would be great if there’s something usable at the space, or a potential to get one of these moose ones…