3D Printing questions

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa4a5d5b578>

So, I am a noob in the 3D printing world. I’d like to do something about that. Especially with some projects I have in mind requiring some prototyping. Despite my research I am struggling to find some answers. This seems in the most part to be down to the fact that every printer is different, as is each filament and machine set up. So if I can narrow the playing field a little and specify the Ultimaker as the weapon of choice, can anyone help me out with the below questions please.

I like the idea of the simulated wood filaments. Most places offer a 5m or 10m sample.

1. How much does 10m of filament print?

2. What thickness of filament should I be looking for if I am hoping to use the Ultimaker?

3. What is the best bet for fixing parts together? Should I be designing with insets for hex nuts, or is glue best?
    I’ve even heard of acetone welding. But that sounds somewhat harmful.

4. Is it best to economise parts into one print job or set up a print for each part individually to scrutinise quality control?

5. 3D printers seem to economise material by creating a honeycomb support structure. Is there any way to specify you just want a solid block with no cavity at all?

Thats probably enough questions for now.

G.

Hard to answer as there are so many variables.
Breaking the project down and running a few smaller test prints usually helps.
What you will be suprised by is how much longer it all takes than you expect.
Once youve run a few test prints of your design and experimented with the materials it starts to get easier and more predictable and repeatable.

Read up on the materials you are thinking of using and look at what others have done with them and how they have set up the printer to do it.