Jewellery bench area

Hey peeps,

It’s Lili here and I have recently joined the space. Is anyone interested in setting up a jewellery bench with a shelf tidy and where could we park it? The bench doesn’t need to be very big, it’s only about 1m in width with a cut out half circle for the bench peg. I have no woodworking experience so would need a carpenter member to help me make it.
Let me know if anyone is interested.

1 Like

+1 from me. Myself and @esther started to leave some bits in the metal works area. it would be great for a dedicated bench!

2 Likes

@Chanelle and Ester - who do we need to talk to set the bench area up?

A folding jewellery bench would be good and easy to stash away. :slight_smile:

I don’t think it can be stashed away as it needs to robust and solid. Assembling and dissembling something like this could be very heavy. My suggestion would be to place the bench and use it as multi purpose area supporting other metalworks, with vices and flexishafts on it. I had a look at the metalworks area and seems fit for purpose to hold a small shelf with pickling and soldering equipment - that being the “dirty” part of the work. The rest of the work is fine filing and sawing which could be done by the electronics area.

Ahh. Ok. I thought you might mean something like this, hence why I suggested a folding one. https://www.cooksongold.com/Jewellery-Tools/Folding-Jewellers-Workbench-prcode-997-120F

This needs to be discussed with @metaltechs, if they agree, and there’s space for it within the metalwork area, then it could be added there

Otherwise: we’re always short of space, so new activities need to be agreed and negotiated in advance.

Any solutions that keep down the footprint of the workspace needed, or are multi-use areas will contribute to making this viable

I think one would wobble if you were doing some hammering on it

1 Like