Hi, my names Depak and I like to build stuff

I am a huge DIY fan. Everything and anything that can be built instead of being bought, I will try and build. Working on a few bits and bobs around the house at the moment, like:

1. Custom sliding shelves for airing cupboard
  2. Retro gaming Joystick
  3. Tree house the little one
  4. 3D wall art
  5. Childrens desk and chair

I am totally self taught with carpentry, plumbing and electrical work although, my dad did teach a lot though. So yes, Ilike to try things out.

I want to join, but have some questions:

1. There is a monthly fee. does that cover everything? Use of all tools, etc? Am I bound to a contract of any sort?
  2. Are inductions to the MakerSpace on any other days? I am unable to make the open day on Wednesdays as I am always taking care of my little one.
  3. If I am not trained to use a machine, would it be OK for me to ask another member to help me with that? (this one might be a silly question)

Looking forward to working with like minded individuals!

Many thanks

Depak

Hi Depak,

Brief answers:

1. £20pcm - covers full access to space and tools (once inducted on various tools)
  2. Wednesday’s is the only organised open evening, but I’m sure we can arrange a time for you to nose about when someone else is in the space.
  3. That’s fine - there’s generally people knocking about who are more than happy to help with using various machines, but to use them unaided you need to be inducted. Inductions are picking up a bit, so shouldn’t be too long for you to be inducted on a few of the machines. Personally I’ve been a member for about 6 months and I’m now woodshop inducted (can use most hand tools and some power tools), laser cutter inducted and recently lathe inducted. So quite a few strings to the bow in a relatively short space of time. Well worth it for £20 a month.