Hi, I'm Hong

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa49494cbc8>

Hello ! I 'm Hong, I’m so glad to join in amazing workspace.
I’m a final year student in fine art course at Central saint martins college.
I usually make sculptural work such as installation art object and normally use wood and metal workshop. In terms of the final piece for the graduation show, the main material is metal. So, I especially need to use metal workshop as soon as possible. Additionally, I want to know there is a MIG welder as well. And also, I really want to get induction as soon as possible because the deadline is very soon. Could you please let me know how to apply for metal workshop induction?
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Thank you so much !
@metaltechs

Best,
Hong

Hi Hong!

What’s the date for your show? Deadlines and urgency are not Makerspace’s great strengths, as inductions etc. only happen when volunteers have time.

While we do have some equiptment it is still in the process of being setup, with risk assessments and inductions still pending, and additional work and investment needed before we can start welding.

I’m sure the metal tech’s will chime in soon, but I would imagine we are not the right place for your needs.

There are metal working facilities at Central Saint Martins that you already have access to:
http://www.arts.ac.uk/csm/about-csm/facilities/workshops/metal-model-making/

Hello! Thank you for your reply!
It’s on the 12th of May.
If someone helps me, it is perfect though, it is not my main reason which want to use makerspace. I really need a working place where has metal and wood workshop and can work without time limit.
I already know how to use most of metal tools. Could you let me know how to book metal induction?

So the restrictions on access for new members would be that you’d only have access when other members were present that had key holder status.

And no members are allowed to use tools when no other members are about, so there are still restrictions.