Hi I’m Francis

Hi there, I’m Francis.

I don’t have experience working with wood but I’d like to get to know some of the basics. My late grandfather was a wood carpenter and I want to connect with that on some level and also just think it’s a super useful life skill.

I’m not totally clear on how the workspace works, ie, for someone like me who is complete novice. I unfortunately can’t attend the open day this eve other wis so would have come along then. So grateful for any one who could enlighten me a bit ok how I can start to get involved.

Many thanks,
Francis

Hi Francis,

Welcome to our community! Indeed, getting into woodworking of any kind is super fun and useful!

I’ll give it a shot; by no means my explanation is complete or correct, just my personal opinion really.

A Makerspace to me is a place where a community of people can come together learn how to use materials, co-create, share resources and knowledge, work on projects, network, code, build, be creative, or just hang out for a cuppa… open list really. We emphasize that we are not a business, we are all volunteers.

My favourite “thing” about SLMS is the community of like minded people sharing knowledge and making sure that machines and tools are operated safely.

For example, I always wanted to learn how to weld, but never really had any chance to do so. In order to weld at SLMS, you will have to pass a little workshop that we call inductions where another member with lots of metal work experience shows a small group how to weld safely and proficiently (well, it takes some practical experience to make MIG welds “look” nice, but everything I stuck together is still stuck together :laughing: