Hi everyone, I'm Gerardo

Hi everyone,
I’m Gerardo and I am a new member of the SLMS.
I am a musician and I plan to use my membership to experiment with shapes and woods that improve the sound of clarinets. I am mostly interested in using the lathes (I have a few years of experience on these machines, too, so if anybody needs help with basic stuff I might be able to contribute).
I look forward to seeing you around.
Best,
Gerardo

Hello @directors , many thanks again for starting my membership. I was wondering when I can come to collect my tag.
Also, who would be the best person to ask for a quick induction on the metal lathe and clearance to use it? @Howard perhaps?
Many thanks for all the help!
Have a great weekend.
Gerardo

Hi,

We still need to work out Risk Assessments and inductions for the metal lathe

Currently there is no one approved to run inductions on it

@Howard has expressed an interest though…so maybe this will help move things forward

Thanks, Dermot, for your prompt reply.
When I talked to Howard during the open evening, he said that it shouldn’t be a problem for him to do that (I understood that it is only pending on your permission).
As I wrote in previous emails, the main machine that I need to use is the metal lathe and I started paying the membership hoping to start using it as soon as possible.
Could you clarify the time frame for this process? Could that be at Howard’s earlier convenience?
Many thanks for all your kind help.

A Risk Assessment (RA) needs to be prepared and then reviewed by a knowledgeable person, then approved by a director. Without this no one should be using the lathe at all

The induction should cover every suggested mitigation in the risk assessment and impart a level of knowledge related to specific use of the relevant machine (for example on the woodlathe members are initially inducted in turning between centres, and can later be inducted for faceplate turning)