Hello there, I'm David S

Hello peeps I’m David,
I will be joining you soon, maybe next week on Thursday for electronics night.
A few months ago I started studying electronics, and it has been very addictive so far.
I know already that I want to learn more about 3d printing, laser cutting, and then why not a bit of robotics.

Looking forward to meeting you all,

1 Like

Hi David

Welcome to SLMS!

Did you make it down to electronics evening yet?

I did, I’ve played around with an Oscilloscope and a basic audio amplifier.
I’ll be there again this Thursday.

1 Like

What you planning to work on this week ?

Finish off the design of a digital dice roller I’m building.
I’ll keep playing with the oscilloscope too.

Sweet. Sound fun.

Is it from a kit?

Nope, something I’ve designed myself. My first PCB design, I know it’s a bit messy:

If you are around on Thursday I’d love to walk you through my design.

3 Likes

Sounds cool - the layout is very organised - certainly much better than my first efforts! It would probably be a good idea to put the caps closer to their respective V+ pins if possible - also not 100% but I think you tied Dout pin to ground - was this intentional?

Thank you for your feedback @Calum_Nicoll.

I wasn’t sure whether distance makes a difference on such a small board.

I’m not using the dout of the 2 max7221 chips (they are not connected together), so I thought it was better to connect to ground. Is this correct?

No worries - if you’d like more feedback there’s a few other things that might help - but about to head for dinner so will reply later. Are the lines very thin traces or unrouted nets?

Thin traces, I’ve been used the default in Eagle I think.

No I wouldn’t connect Dout to ground as if you send in data and it transmits out (can’t remember if it does this by default) then you will probably kill the chip.