Hello! I'm Josh 👋

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa4978c9158> #<Tag:0x00007fa4978c8fc8> #<Tag:0x00007fa4978c8e88> #<Tag:0x00007fa4978c8c58>

Hey everyone - I’m Josh, have been living in West Norwood for some time and was really happy to find out there’s a makerspace so close by :slight_smile: I’m a software developer / data… person by trade - my main area of hacky makey expertise though is in building and designing synth modules and bits of assorted musical kit; and then, occasionally, actually playing them.

Asides the synth I’m really interested in the woodworking workshop :smile: I’ve been building with hand / power tools for a few years - mainly bits of built in furniture and odd little projects like suspended cat access solutions - but have some jobs in mind which would really benefit from knowing a table saw / planer. Plus I strongly suspect they’re great, if high-stakes, fun to use.

Asides from both of those I’m also really looking forward to meeting people working on interesting things, and helping if I can. I don’t know if the induction process is rolling at the moment, but I might try and get to a volunteer day soon and say hello. Meanwhile, if you have a synth, code, or catplinth based question - or are in S London and fancy and kind of jam, let me know.

3 Likes

Hi Josh, nice to meet you!

I am sure with your interests you will find a lot in common with people at our MakerSpace.
We have a electronics night that runs once a week online and now also in the outdoor area of our space.
Andrea @emuboy organises these and I am sure he will be very interested in your electronics projects. Plus our in-house master of synth himself @0atman.

We aren’t currently taking on any new members as of yet because of COVID restrictions which make it difficult to induct on new tools. But we will hopefully be able to do so in the next few month.

Until then stick around here on discourse and we hopefully see you at one of our volunteer days as well!

Hey Julia - good to meet you too.