Greetings! I’m Suzanne

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa497b4f738> #<Tag:0x00007fa497b4f580>

Hello to all you fellow creative people!

I look forward to meeting some of you soon and hope I can share skills and ideas with and learn from you. My background is in architecture, but I’ve been making things in some form or other all my life. In recent years I’ve gotten into working with wood and also learning about tree and wood identification. I’m always on the lookout for bits of unwanted wood to identify and work with. So if you have a tree you’re pruning and are about to throw out the wood, please get in touch!

My setup at home is limited, so I’m really keen to do a woodworking induction and get stuck in as soon as possible. If anyone comes in during the daytime and would be happy to show me the ropes a bit in the wood workshop, I’d be thrilled. I really want to get to grips with all the tools and machinery so I can gauge what sort of projects I can do and experiment. I’ve read through various bits and pieces to do with induction, machinery, access rights and so on and am a bit confused about the process, what is formal and what informal etc. Any clarification would be very welcome. I’d love to get going as soon as possible! If you can help, please let me know! If you have shared interests or think I can help, let me know too!

Thanks,
Suzanne

1 Like

Hi Suzanne, welcome to the space!

Inductions for anything significant (woodshop included) are operated on a waiting list basis. You’ll need to stick your name on the relevant induction waiting lists as a starting point! Once you do that, you’ll get pinged each time one of the techs for that particular area of the workshop (or bit of machinery) set up an induction. Induction sessions get listed here, and you can keep an eye on that section to see when they get posted!

I hope that helps.

Hi Ara,