Dining Table - Shou Sugi Ban

Hiya,

As I mentioned in my intro post, I’m making a dining table, bench and legs for both out of 18mm birch faced ply.

I would like to do the Shou Sugi Ban finish on the table top. I’ve never done this before so I’ll carry out some test samples before doing the actually table top.

Question: Does the workshop have a torch, propane or otherwise???

I’d love to hear if anyone has had experience with this and how they got on.

Thanks,

Will.

Hi Will,

Flame work of all types is prohibited in the space because we’re under a network rail arch - no burners, no torches, no flame of any kind I’m afraid. It’s in our lease (and also presents a risk to the railway above)

Thanks for the info CT,

I didn’t mention it in my post but my intention would be to do this outside of the workshop. Is flame work allowed out in the yard, or is this under the same safety constraints ?

Will.

Yep, afraid so - not least because that’s the fire escape route for the brewery and garage next door, and in the event of a fire they would be unable to escape.

Hi Will & other Makers!

This is my 1st post here so please let me know if you want to have a chat in more detail / If I missed anything!