Any interest in learning to design and make your own clothing?

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa34d6bdbe8> #<Tag:0x00007fa34d6bdaa8>

Hi everyone!

I was just about to start drafting a basic top pattern to my measurements (lost the blocks I had in my move), and since for that I’ll be dusting off my theory books, I thought I’d ask if anyone is interested in learning, in which case I’d package up some notes while I go through the process with the idea of creating little workshops for those interested.

Of course menswear and womenswear are different stories, and so is making tops vs pants etc. But I got books for all those, so if you’re interested also do let me know what type of garment you have in mind and I can see what I can do :slight_smile:

disclaimer: I’ve been pretty passionate about designing custom fit garments for a couple years but I’m no pro and am mostly self taught, but what could possibly be impossible with our combined wisdom (and a lot of aspirin when things go wrong :)) )

Lemme know!

7 Likes

oh oh anyone who has widsom to impart please do reach out too! I have loads to learn too!

1 Like

I am!

1 Like

I have done a bit of pattern sewing but it would be great to learn more!

1 Like

I’d love to give it a go! Such an interesting and undervalued process, not to mention how wrong is the fashion industry at so many levels!

1 Like

Definitely interested in learning some fundamentals!

1 Like

I am super keen to give it a go!

1 Like

I’m interested too - I’ve done some pattern drafting before but it was quite some time ago and would be nice to do with a group.

1 Like

Sounds great! I’d love to be able to make my own waistcoats and/or ties!

1 Like

This sounds like great fun!