Whats going on with the Large format printer ( IPF605 )

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa4a5f147e8>

I’m still quite new to the space but the IPF 605 keeps catching my eye every time i’m in.
I’ve had a little search on discourse, not to much luck and I asked someone the first time I was in and I was told it was out of ink and probably roll too.
I’m keen to do some printing and creative projects on it. I have experience with Epson LF printers but not cannon.
Is there an induction to it?
Would I need to go buy the ink and roll? or Is it more sort of a pay per print sort of deal?

Anyway I thought I would voice this as it’s a beast of a printer that I’m slightly itching to get at…

anyone ells interested?

It’s in good working order but it needs some ink. @peter_hellyer knows what to buy. We should get some!

1 Like

It is currently out of ink, and roll.

I keep meaning to order something. If someone could tell me what tanks are empty, I’ll order the bits and do the maintenance. I too have a bunch of things I’d like to do with it (hence why I bought it ;))

We never got around to deciding how it would be paid for, but I figure we’d just keep the tanks running, and have a basic roll in the space. If you want more exotic materials (canvas, or photo paper or what-not) then bring those along, but worth checking that they’re compatible first.

If it gets super expensive to run (i.e. there’s a0 sheets of the darkest black coming out continuously) we might need to review that.

I’m happy to show anyone that wants to, how to use it, load it and get the best out of it, but no specific induction required.

1 Like

It also needs to find a better home than it currently is in as well…

1 Like

Hey peter I’ll be in tomorrow.
I’m happy to check the tanks for you.
and give it a little wipe down as it’s a little dusty.